1. Home
  2. Equality and Diversity
  3. Diversity Champion Programme

Diversity Champion Programme

Find out how to become a Champion and more!

About the Diversity Champions Programme

The programme is an intensive three day course delivered jointly with NHS Lanarkshire. It aims to have a Champion in every workplace who can amongst other things:

  • Help drive behavioural and cultural change across the organisation
  • Embrace NLC’s organisational values
  • Raise awareness of NLC’s Dignity at Work Policy
  • Encourage individuals to speak up for their issues and concerns and
  • Provide a focus and communication channel for the discussion and implementation of equality and diversity concerns and practices in the organisation and to participate in a NLC   network of equality and diversity champions.

The course aims to ensure that participants are knowledgeable, confident and competent in the following areas:

  1. Equality and diversity: understanding some of the key concepts including prejudice, stereotyping and discrimination and how they impact on all of us;
  2. The policy context: why equality and diversity are important issues for the NHS and NLC: the business, legal and moral case;
  3. Equality Legislation: knowledge of equality legislation; Challenging discriminatory comments and behaviour: when, how and what to say and do; the thorny issue of political correctness;
  4. Understanding the role of the diversity and equality champions; and
  5. Knowing where to find support and resources: within the organisation and externally including the role of the Equality and Human Rights Commission, the role of the Unions, the relevant web sites etc.

Dates for 2020 coming soon

If you would like to become a Diversity Champion you should discuss and seek approval from your line manager in the first instance then complete the downloadable application form on this page and follow the instructions.

Dates for 2020 will appear here soon

The Diversity Champions Training Programme application pack is available below.

List of current diversity champions

Chief Executive’s Office

  • Robert Gibb, Digital Learning Adviser
  • Pauline McCafferty, Learning & Development Manager
  • Andrew McNaughton, Infrastructure Support Officer

Enterprise & Communities

  • Steven Lee, Streetscene Operative
  • Andrew Greenhill, Streetscene Driver
  • Jason Rooney, Fleet Controller
  • Paul Black, Driver
  • Graham Hall, Streetscene Supervisor
  • Derek Bramma, Senior Building Standards Surveyor
  • Libby Lochhead, Housing Advisor

Adult Health & Social Care

  • Alex Campbell, Rehabilitation & Mobility Officer
  • Clare Morris, Senior Integrated Care Worker
  • Peter Mayavo, Social Worker
  • Maxine Devlin, Operational Learning & Development Senior
  • Lynne Clifford, Senior Quality Assurance Officer
  • Michelle Goodship, Senior Social Worker
  • Libby Lochhead, Housing Advisor
  • Martin Brown, Service Delivery Co-ordinator
  • Nicola Toy, Senior Social Worker
  • Marion Sankus, Locality Leader
  • Peter Sweeney, Social Worker
  • Mary Ritchie, Social Worker
  • Susan Paterson, Housing Co-ordinator
  • Claire Liddle, Locality Support Worker
  • Dawn McIntyre, Senior Clerical Assistant
  • Fiona Cameron, Senior Officer Younger Adults
  • Elizabeth O’Neil, Social Worker
  • Susan Travers, OT Assistant
  • Margaret Stewart, Locality Social Work Manager
  • Alison Laughlan, Rehabilitation & Mobility Officer
  • Nicola Pettigrew, Housing Operations Manager
  • Rajinder Juttlay, Senior Social Worker
  • Mary Oliver, Operational Learning & Development Lead

Education & Families

  • Audrey Cameron, Development Officer (Equalities)
  • Mohammed Hussain, Network Support Teacher
  • Alison Findlay, Senior Education Psychologist
  • Leontia McLaughlin, Home School Partnership Officer
  • Gillian McCairn, CLD Worker
  • Mairi Brady, CLD Worker
  • Nicola Barlow, ALN Worker
  • Lynn Williamson, Clerical Assistant – Network Support
  • David Pearce, ASNA

Diversity Champions Forum

The place for Diversity Champions to share ideas and chat.

 ForumThreadsMessagesLast messageOptions
Diversity Champions Forum
17 35 05 Oct 2016 10:09 Subscribe
Diversity Champions Training Programme - Application Pack
Version: 2016
Size: 386.54 kb
Date modified: 05-12-2019
Diversity Champions Poster
Size: 857.40 kb
Date modified: 05-12-2019
Updated on 24th December 2019

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles